Langton's Whinge

The place on the web to chat about wine, Australian wines, or any other wines for that matter
Duncan Disorderly

Langton's Whinge

Post by Duncan Disorderly »

I've been buying the odd bottle from Langton's for about five years. I've looked at other auction houses, but Langton's system is very user friendly (despite some more obvious recent glitches).However, the whole auction system now feels so heavily manipulated that it leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

My main issue is vendor bidding. I have no problem with vendors making bids, but it appears that most of the time it's Langton's itself bidding up prices, either acting as a seller's agent or because they are selling large amounts of wine they have bought on consignment.

Take for instance their 'unreserved auctions'. Bidding starts at zero, but it's frequently the case that several lots of the same wine will be bid up to the same price within a short period and then all have exactly the same sales price when the auction closes (if indeed they are actually selling). For example a wine with a market value of about $30 is offered in 7 lots, of different multiples of bottles. Soon every lot has a bid of $20. Then if you buy a couple of lots in the hours before it closes it becomes clear that they all have a reserve say $27 ie the retail market price.

It's feels like it's gone from being a good auction house to just an arm of Dan Murphy's. Clearly this has been the case for a while. Perhaps I've had my head in the sand, and been unwilling to take the plunge elsewhere. Not anymore.
Last edited by Duncan Disorderly on Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

JamieBahrain

Re: Langton's Whinge

Post by JamieBahrain »

Conversely, at another auction site, I have been contacted by bidders via internal mail system that's available, asking not to bid up wines and we'd divvy up the booty.