What wine match with wood fired Pizza

The place on the web to chat about wine, Australian wines, or any other wines for that matter
Anonymous

What wine match with wood fired Pizza

Post by Anonymous »

Hi I'm a beginner of wine lover, I don't don't what wine would go with wood fired pizza and pasta dishes, I like red but could be white if you recommended.
thank you

Wizz

Post by Wizz »

Hi There,

The traditional italian wine match for pizza is Sangiovese, and I've found it works well. I've also found many medium bodied reds work just as well though, as long as they arent too ripe and sweet - shiraz and sone pinot noir work. Tempranillo can also work, but there arent that many around yet.

I'd consider white depending on whats on the pizza, eg prawns.

Wines I've liked with quality pizza:

Tahbilk Sangiovese
Tahbilk Shiraz
Primo Estate Il Briccone (Shiraz Sangiovese blend)

Also I dont drink a lot of hunter valley shiraz but it could work well,

cheers

Andrew

KMP

Post by KMP »

I had some 2004 Pirramimma Shiraz (White Label) with pizza earlier in the week. Not a match made in heaven, but the pizza certainly tamed the astringency and turned Pirramimma into a much more approachable wine.

Mike

darby

Post by darby »

The Wizz is spot on in his reccommendation about avoiding ripe and sweet reds when looking for something to go with pizza. Most Australian reds fit this category. Italian style reds are better.

The variety is one clue in finding a good pizza wine. Try sangiovese or barbera. But some aussie wines made from these varieties are really Australian style (Parkerised) reds.

The best clue is to look for wines (Australian or whatever) with lower alcohol, say around 12% rather than the 14-15% of many Aussie shirazes. These will be more likely to have savoury flavours of ripening fruit rather than the sweeter ripe fruit flavours.