Best way to store wines when you don't have a cellar?

The place on the web to chat about wine, Australian wines, or any other wines for that matter
grasshopper

Best way to store wines when you don't have a cellar?

Post by grasshopper »

Hello All,

I have stumbled across these forums recently and have enjoyed reading some expert commentary. I am a relative novice in all things wine but would like to develop my expertise (and my collection) over the next few years.

My first question then is in regards to storing my wines. I live on a single-level house in Sydney's south-west with no obvious cellar in place. Therefore, what sort of location would you recommend for me to store my wines that I wish to keep for a few years. Someone once told me the middle of the house would be best to reduce temperature variability. Are there any other suggestions?

I really appreciate your expert advice.

Christo

Post by Christo »

what type of house? double-brick, brick-veneer?

c
"You are what u drink!"

Hacker

Post by Hacker »

If the wines will be consumed in the next year or two, then you probably could get away with a cupboard or some part of the house not copping the westerley sun. But this is far from perfect. If however you continue collecting (it is a disease :twisted: ) you will fast realise you want to look after your treasures.

A wine cabinet is a fast solution. There are many brands, and I'm sure others can suggest good names. They hold anything from 24 to 120 bottles at a constant temp and humidity. Alternatively one of a number of offsite storage facilities will take your wine and money.

A Sydney summer is not a good environment to look after your wine.

Andrew Jordan

Post by Andrew Jordan »

Grasshopper,