Grenache

The place on the web to chat about wine, Australian wines, or any other wines for that matter
saturn5519

Grenache

Post by saturn5519 »

As i am relatively new to wines and wanting to learn about reds other than shiraz/cab sav so i'm wanting to taste other varieties.A mate suggested i try some Grenache.What regions would you suggest to try and what should i expect in tastes and smells.Sorry about the questions.

I Love Shiraz

Re: Grenache

Post by I Love Shiraz »

The two best regions in Australia are Barossa Valley and McLaren Vale. I prefer McLaren Vale over Barossa. The most exciting area for Grenache is the Blewitt Springs sub-region of McLaren Vale.

Expect red fruits - red currants, cherries, raspberries, strawberries, etc.
Life is too short to drink rubbish wine.

Instagram: wine.by.michael

Sean

Post by Sean »

Welcome to the forum.

You are going to love drinking Grenache. Just don’t tell anyone else about it. :)

Typically they will have great aromatics, less oak and tannin, and a softer feel to them.

Fruit character will be pretty obvious, often red fruits (not lollyish in better wines), spice and earth.

Barossa Valley and McLaren Vale offer lots of options - they have old bush vines and some of the winemakers are probably obsessed with it.

These wines will be easy to find and are good examples of Grenache. The Torbreck is actually a blend, but it is also worth trying.

Cirillo The Vincent Grenache $25
Barossa Valley

Chapel Hill The MV Bush Vine Grenache $30
McLaren Vale

Artisans of Barossa Barrel Blend Grenache $20
Barossa Valley

Pepperjack Grenache $20
McLaren Vale

Peter Lehmann The Barossan Grenache $22
Barossa Valley

Torbreck Cuvee Juveniles Grenache Blend $32
Barossa Valley

Ian S

Post by Ian S »

I like the thrust of Sean's reply, giving a useful 'what to expect' and offering up practical examples. Real potential for similar posts on other grapes.