TN: three wineries on Waiheke

The place on the web to chat about wine, Australian wines, or any other wines for that matter
GraemeG

TN: three wineries on Waiheke

Post by GraemeG »

WAIHEKE ISLAND WINERIES - Waiheke Is, New Zealand (11/10/2023)

Lots of high quality, very expensive wineries here in Auckland harbour just 40 mins by ferry from downtown (I don’t think there’s any Island wine for less than about $40); but this is my first time visiting cellar doors by bus and on foot! At least half a dozen wineries are within 5 minutes walk of some bus route or another, although plenty of others are way off the beaten track. Might be one of the wine world’s few regions where the appellation name seems a genuine guarantee of at least ‘very good’ quality. As a wine destination, unhesitatingly recommended, despite the prices! Also, not all wineries are open every day; Fri – Sun seem safest.
Stonyridge Vineyard
Tasting menu – three cheapies for $20 or 3 premiums for $35. Good news is it’s refundable on purchase. Stemmed glasses, thin rims. Pours are 30ml. Food, drink, seating, music at the site. Surprisingly (to me) commercial in outlook, given its standard-bearer/elder status on Waiheke. The full range of wines available to buy/drink (bottle or glass) on site.
  • 2021 Stonyridge Vineyard Pilgrim - New Zealand, North Island, Auckland, Waiheke Island
    {screwcap, NZ$120} Youthful plum and cinnamon. Cloves, plums spice on the palate. Soft furry oak. Medium/high acidity, medium dusty tannin. Medium weight overall. 88% shiraz, with mouvedre/grenache/viognier pitching in 8/3/1, and I can tell you that the 1% viognier is quite apparent.
  • 2022 Stonyridge Vineyard Airfield - New Zealand, North Island, Auckland, Waiheke Island