Does a poor cellar door experience affect your decision to support the said winery?

The place on the web to chat about wine, Australian wines, or any other wines for that matter
Rocky

Does a poor cellar door experience affect your decision to support the said winery?

Post by Rocky »

I recently completed another Margaret River drive tour with mixed emotions. Don't get me wrong, I love the region and feel honoured to have the ability to regularly visit, however a recent cellar door incident has left me questioning whether I should continue my support of a particular winery, especially when there are so many others producing comparable and even better wines.

I won't won't name and shame the winery except to say it is allegedly one the Australia's finest Cabernet blend produces and I have been buying their flagship Cabernet for the past 10 years - perhaps no more.

To the event in question. Upon entry I was keen to taste the recent release of Cabernet but was told there is no Cabernet for tasting, " you will have to return in 3 weeks". I couldn't believe it. I asked a second time thinking I mis-heard but no the same response. I then asked to taste the flagship Cabernet but was told there is a $5 tasting fee now. Again, I couldn't believe it, especially after just visiting Woodlands whose tasting room experience is inviting, professional and inspiring. Both their last 2 year's flagships for tasting plus several small releases. Likewise my visit to Cape Grace was brilliant and inspiring resulting in purchases.

is this a case of me experiencing a taste of 'sour grapes' or is it true your cellar door experience can impact your loyalty and buying pattern?

Bobthebuilder

Re: Does a poor cellar door experience affect your decision to support the said winery?

Post by Bobthebuilder »

curiousity is killing me!
any chance of dropping a couple more names that aren't the subject winery??? :lol:

Hacker