weeping wine

The place on the web to chat about wine, Australian wines, or any other wines for that matter
Seven

weeping wine

Post by Seven »

I've got a magnum from 70's which has been stored in the wine fridge for the past few years without any issue. However I found it's been leaking, ullaged from base of the neck to high shoulder within 4 months (it was okay when I moved house in April). It is obviously not heat related.

So is it likely caused by cork failure? if so how would you rectify the issue? would you recork it by yourself?

cheers
Last edited by Seven on Sat Sep 03, 2011 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

TiggerK

Re: weeping wine

Post by TiggerK »

I'm no cork expert, but I suspect once you uncork it (which you'll really have to do rather soon) the downhill slide will inexorably begin, and has likely done so already.

Perhaps access to something like the Winesave product and a magnum corking machine might be an option, know anyone with one?

Personally I'd find an excuse to open it ASAP. Party at your place?? :D

What wine is it out of interest?

Cheers
Tim

markg

Post by markg »

Seven wrote:I've got a magnum from 70's which has been stored in the wine fridge for the past few years without any issue. However I found it's been leaking from base of the neck to high shoulder within 4 months (it was okay when I moved house in April). It is obviously not heat related.

So is it likely caused by cork failure? if so how would you rectify the issue? would you recork it by yourself?

cheers

Probably best way to rectify the situation would be to bring it along to an offline Chi :)
Cheers
-Mark Wickman

WICKMAN'S FINE WINE AUCTIONS
FREE membership, LOWEST auction commissions in Australia.
Now accepting wine for our next auction.
http://www.wickman.net.au

Twitter: @WickWine
YouTube: WickWineAuction

Seven

Post by Seven »

Mark

I'm happy to do it. but the problem is that you are always busy and never available! :wink:

markg

Post by markg »